Uncategorized

Faith Montana- mover: Ain’t worried about nothing!Ⓡ

All rights belongs to: Matthew 6:25-34

 

“Guess who’s back, back again. Deji’s back, tell a friend.” Sorry for my absence, it’s definitely been way too long! However the main thing is that I’m back and kicking, and man does it feel good to be back.

So recently finishing my exams has got me absolutely buzzing, but you know what, looking back I can truly say it was one heck of a season (the stress even had your boy’s hairline at a risk!). I mean everything happened from sleepless nights to jacket potato dinners (never again).

In the midst of all the exam palaver there was one standpoint that God really laid on my heart and that was worry. It wasn’t till probably my gazillionth one that I actually realised the influence it has. Now before you pull me up, I’m aware that as people we all worry, about literally anything; from the next jacket to buy, to the next hairstyle to turn faces. The thing is though worry should end in the same place it began; it’s when the seed of worry starts to grow that problems arise, which I was to learn.

Actually I happened to start revision in a good place. Not that I knew all – however prayer and His word had me still trusting in my God given ability to do what had to be done. With this God given confidence, the initial segment of the revision period was quite a joyful one. I mean even discovering regulations behind pharmaceutical companies had your boy buzzing, however as time went on, it no longer became as hunky dory as expected.

Studying in the library meant it was inevitable that I would bump into peers. The issue with the bump is that peers talk, a lot. Rumours about literally everything to anything about the exam constantly came up in these conversations. Despite this, I initially managed to brush them off my shoulders and continue doing me. As time went on, with the constant circulation I slowly started paying attention to these rumours by the day… more attention than my able father. This caused the once seed of worry to germinate into a weed, only just where my faith laid. The loss of focus resulted in less time in prayer and more time worrying. I even came up with excuses against praying like ‘not having enough time’, whereas at hindsight that ‘valuable’ time was used worrying.

It reminds me a little of the time in the bible (Matthew 14:22-33) where Peter saw Jesus walking on water and decided to come out and meet him. Now initially Peter water walked UNTIL he moved his eyes away from Jesus… and started sinking. With Peter screaming for help from the top of his lungs, Jesus gave a helping hand. The funny (or not so funny for Peter) thing was that Jesus was always there; it was his actions that brought the need for help. It wasn’t until I stepped back and realised that my actions were bringing the need for help that worry began to lose its effect. Reflection made me recall all the times when the process wasn’t perfect yet there was a harvest.

Ephesians 3:20 “Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us

Reminiscing brought me back to completing the London Half Marathon late last year. Don’t be deceived by the picture, it was some journey.  In all fairness, I started training quite early and with the experience of the previous races it helped significantly. So with two weeks to go till race day and feeling more ready than ever…obstacles came as they do (you already knew!).  With work and placements to complete, I underestimated how demanding it would be to combine the training with life. All in all, keeping my faith in check brought me through the process day by day, completing the race under two hours.

More importantly, God reminded me of his works in the life of my brother Chris, receiving admission to study pharmacy, however this story dated as far back as A-levels. Studying pharmacy was my brother’s ambition from A-level days, however exam results brought a delay to this. I remember asking Chris in concern “What you going to do now bro?”- looking at it now, what I loved the most was his response; there was no worry in his voice, even with friends like myself doubting his chances (I was young y’all). Chris realised that it was in God’s hands and accepted His timing, not just in words but in action; studying a related course to build him towards his ambition. See I know many will say he had no choice, but how wrong that is! The easiest option, an option many of us take, would be giving up with phrases such as “it is what it is”, the truth is that Chris knew was “it is what God makes it”. Chris knew the delay was not a denial. Without the faith that he was rooted in, this couldn’t be clear, All in all, worry was missing.

James 2:14 “what does it profit, my brethren, if someone says he has faith but does not have works? Can faith save him?”

Looking back at Chris’s story and the book of Matthew 6:25-34 was enough to give me enough confidence during the latter stages of revision. Like Chris I combined my faith with works; library sessions saw greater consistency. Like Chris’s story blocking the ‘other voices’ was inevitable, even if it meant being alone. There was to be no more Blue Peter sinking, like Chris it was clear I was in a different race, so side talk was irrelevant. Faith acted as the antidote to worry, giving me a peace beyond comprehension.

Philipians 4:7 “And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

…And you won’t guess what? Exam day happen to go better than expected. With results coming out soon, my faith has brought me to a similar position as Shadrach, Mesach and Abednego (Daniel 3:4)- knowing whatever happens, happens. For it’s in God’s hands.

1st Corinthians 3:6 “I planted the seed, Apollos watered it, but God has been making it grow.”

Remember, with faith it doesn’t matter how deep the water is…if you can swim!

Matthew 6:25-26 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is life not more important than food, and the body more important than clothes?  Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?”

Standard

Leave a comment